The European Athletics U23 Championships is a biennial athletics competition gathering young, European athletes, aged 20 – 22 (under 23), organized by the European Athletics Association since 1997.

The event, first held in 1992 and 1994 as the European Athletics U23 Cup, officially took off in July 1997 in Turku (FIN).

So far the event was held in Poland once only in 2003. It was Bydgoszcz that gathered the best athletes U23 then and will host the new generation of young sportsmen and women in 2017.

Polish team has been present in the championships since the beginning, claiming 87 medals in 14 years: 32 gold, 23 silver and 32 bronze.

In the years 1997-2011 Polish athletes contested in 208 finals and gathered 978,5 points in the world classification.

Gold was claimed by the renown stars such as Lidia Chojecka (1999), Monika Pyrek (2001), Kamila Skolimowska and Marek Plawgo (2003), Marcin Lewandowski (2007), Adam Kszczot (2009 and 2011) and Paweł Fajdek and Paweł Wojciechowski (2011).

The 2003 event witnessed several successful performances, among others of Mo Farah (GBR), Blanka Vlasic (CRO), Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS) and Carolina Kluft (SWE).
The European Athletics U23 is an event of flashing stars.
Be part of this festival of thrilling emotions!

Join us!